Today’s episode is brought to you by the letter “e”

…as in “embarassed.”  Or “elementary school was a long time ago.”

Quick – name this shape!

If you said rhombus, you are wrong.  But don’t feel too bad because I called that bitch a rhombus, too.  Let me back up a bit.

I was trying to describe to my boss the shape of the cord that was missing from his laptop, making it impossible for me to connect it to the tabletop projector (shit, already this story is boring but just bear with me, ok?).

me: I think there’s a cord that kind of looks like a printer cord?
him: What does a printer cord look like?
me: You know…it’s got two rows of pins in it, and it shaped like a weird rectangle?
him: …
me: Well, maybe it’s more of a rhombus, but, you know, rounded?  At the corners?
him: I don’t know what you are talking about.
me(trying to use my hands to make the shape I am talking about) Like this?
him(looks at my mangled gang sign hands)
me: I’m sorry.

In case you were wondering, this is what I was trying to describe:

Please tell me you know what I’m talking about.  Otherwise I truly am losing my mind.

Anyway, the point of this story is that the shape I was trying to describe is actually called a trapezoid, not a rhombus.  But honestly?  I don’t think it really mattered what the fuck I called that shape because Boss Man and I weren’t on the same page.  And me attempting to make a shadow puppet it for him with my hands wasn’t helping the situation.

6 thoughts on “Today’s episode is brought to you by the letter “e”

  1. I knew exactly what you were trying to describe. And I can’t even see the pictures at work. So there. You and me? On the same page chickie monkey.

  2. My Geek head was screaming SERIAL CABLE the whole time I was reading this post. But I did forget what a trapezoid looked like. Thanks for the reminder.

  3. So I totally understood what you were trying to say. That’s how I would have described it too! I guess we’re just computer language deficient.

Leave a Reply

