Breaking news – dog celebrates birthday (owner almost forgets)

A fifth birthday, to be exact.  My little baby Ernie turned 5 on Saturday.

I knew it was coming up; Ernie and I have met a lot of new people in the past few months and when asked, I’ve been telling them that he’ll be 5 “later this summer.” On Saturday, wedged between coolers and beach chairs on our way out to the dog-friendly north end of Carolina Beach, the words were half-way out of my mouth before I stopped.

“Wait – what’s today?  Is it the 5th?”

(fellow passenger) “Um…yes?”

“Today is your birthday, Ernie!  You are five!”

So…sorry, baby Ernie.  No birthday cake.  But you did get some delicious birthday ice cream.

Om nom nom birthday ice cream

Ernie turns 5

I love you, little one! I hope we get to celebrate many more together.

Shit, now I’m crying.

6 thoughts on “Breaking news – dog celebrates birthday (owner almost forgets)

  1. Happy Birthday, Ernie!! Kisses to you!

    I think he’s enjoying his birthday ice cream very, very much. He’s not even missing cake.

    Did I mention he got watermelon, too? Even better than cake!

  2. Happy Birthday, Baby! Yum! Birthday ice cream!

    Oddly enough birthday ice cream tastes like regular ice cream. But he liked it anyway.

  3. Happy Birthday!! It’s funny how fast they grow. For some reason we are “stopped in time” and have been telling people Mr. B is 5–when that’s how old he was when we got him nearly 2 years ago.

  4. Awww…Ernie doesn’t look a day over 4. If it makes you feel any better, I regularly forget when my husband’s birthday is and how old he is and he is human. And my soulmate.

Leave a Reply

