Good news/bad news: Monday edition


You know how when you get about 8 messages in your voicemail box, and you really, really don’t feel like checking them? So you don’t, and you get a few more, and wow, now there are 12, and you really should just listen to them and get it over with, but you still don’t, and then you have 15, wait, 17, holy f*ck 19 messages, and now your voicemail box is full and your mom sends emails to both your work and personal addresses to make sure that you’re still alive because she couldn’t get a hold of you?

Yeah, that’s about how my life is right now. And my voicemail box really is full.

First of all, Hemo is once again MIA. She pulled this trick last year and hung out with her Black Boyfriend and the other feral cats around the block for a month and a half.  She’s been gone for 2 months now, and I’ve checked all her favorite hang out spots around the house and the neighborhood, along with some very random places that come to me in dreams and leave me in a panicked sweat. So far I’m certain she’s not dying a slow death in my dryer, under the house, in the trash bin, or in the neighbor’s yard trash can. I’m holding on to hope that she’s somewhere safe, and planning on gracing us with her presence in the very near future.

Next up: I completed my first 10k earlier this month (I’m going to go with a good news/bad news format to keep you on your toes). My friend Kristin and I have been running together with the goal of running a 1/2 marathon in November, and on July 10th we ran in our first race. It was pretty awesome; the course took us over 3 of the bridges spanning downtown Wilmington. It was a semi-rainy day and most of our friends were out of town, but there were plenty of volunteers and other strangers to give me all the high-fives I needed to complete the run in under my goal time (I was aiming to finish in <90 minutes, and finished in <70!). I actually have some pretty funny stories about the run that I will share at a later date (haha, I didn’t fall down! teehee, my thighs rubbed together so badly I got a strawberry on my inner thigh! Hilarious!).

The kittens are still homeless. They are absolutely adorable, and Ernie’s fascination has abated enough where he no longer is curious about how they taste (although one day I came home to find the two kittens asleep in Ernie’s bowl. Note to kittens: don’t push your luck). It’s pretty cute to see them curled up with Ernie or Dex on the couch, but the thought of cleaning a litter box for the next 15 or so years makes me want to pull my hair out. I need them gone STAT.

I’m semi-professionally (or at least not-doing-it-for-free) blogging here. Well, I guess this is a good news/bad news item combined, because my blogging-by-the-seat-of-my-pants style on this blog doesn’t translate very well to blogging-on-a-very-specific-topic style over there. I feel like a lot of my writing is falling flat, and although I’m blogging! about pets! a lot of the time I don’t feel very inspired. Feel free to read and offer some advice/criticism/kick in the pants. WTF am I not doing right? What’s missing (besides the illustrations; pretty sure those aren’t going to make an appearance outside of this blog)? BUT – this gig has bought me a new laptop, pays for my internet access, and is flying me to Denver in September for the BlogPaws West conference. So, overall a win.

My air conditioner is broken. As in, it’s still blowing out (some) cold air, but it’s also leaking condensation inside of my house and all over my living room floor. It’s too hot to do much more than call my landlord, put down some towels, and be grateful that I still haven’t replaced the rug that Dex had his most recent diarrhea attack all over. As I was watching a mini-marathon of “Intervention” on hulu, I thought to myself, “wow, that meth-addicted prostitute who just got fired from her job at the bath house keeps a pretty tidy house.” I was surrounded by sopping towels, white fluff (Dex has just destroyed another comforter), and potting soil (one of the kittens knocked over one of my philodendrons). Low point of the week month.

I’m blogging again. At least, I am today.

3 thoughts on “Good news/bad news: Monday edition

  1. I miss you when you’re not blogging. You suppose Hemo got sick of the kittens? Didn’t she give them the smackdown and show them whose in charge?! I can’t wait to see your other blog. I can’t look right now. Sigh. Stupid work. But I would be willing to bet you’re too afraid to be the quirky kind of writer you are on THIS blog. Because somehow that’s not as “professional” or something. Something to think about, I guess. Go for it!

  2. Oh…I’m sorry about the MIA Hemo……..I know what that’s like. Your Kittens are adorable…….I’d take them, but they’d be barn cats, and in my neck of the woods, I’m not sure that’s what is best for them. The barn cats that are there are pretty wild and are so inbred….we need new blood!

    anyway, I hope Hemo comes home………..and you find good cat homes for the babies.

Leave a Reply

